Router Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I am new at this I'm doing stacked text using 60 degree V bit and my raised letters are not smooth wood I'm using Pine wood Bit is set at 18,000 rpm 40 IPM. AM i using to sokt of a wood or is it something in my tool setup or whatever . This is my first project so I m as green as it gets but i did suceed at righting the program it looks good if the letters were smooth.

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
Hi Brian and welcome. One of the reasons cuts turn out fuzzy is that the wood is too green still.

Reactions: difalkner

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
4,196 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Brian!

We do like photos so show us your shop, tools, projects, CNC, etc. whenever you're ready.

Yes, I agree with Charles - wood may be too wet. Try the same cut with some good hardwood like Maple and see if you get the same results. Also, what bit are you using (specifically)? Is it sharp? Is it carbide or HSS? I use a 60° bit and engrave at 100 ipm with no fuzzy edges (could go faster, really).

Got any photos of your work, even this with fuzzy edges?

David

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
You're using construction lumber if you got it at Lowes and it should be dry enough but that isn't always the case. You're in Memphis which doesn't help. The pine may be southern yellow pine and it tends to be more pitchy than other species of pine. Our lodgepole pine would probably work just fine for what you are doing but it needs to dry some too. David would have a better idea of what works as he lives in NW Louisiana which would be similarly humid to Memphis.

·
Registered
580 Posts
For me anyway, pine from the big box stores always is a crap shoot if its going to carve well. For a low cost option, I use poplar which seems to cut a little better but every long once in a while I will get a fuzzy carving.