Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
687 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Dewalt DWE7480 job site saw. As a hobbyist, I work almost exclusively with hard woods except for pine and MDf for jigs. Most of the wood I cut is under 1" thick but with cutting boards I can go over 1 1/2 inches.

I have a Dewalt 24 tooth thin kerf blade that came with the saw. I bought a Freud Diablo 60 tooth thin kerf from HD. The 24 tooth leaves a rough edge which is fine for rough cuts or breaking down larger boards or panels. The 60 tooth does a decent job crosscutting but doesn't work well as a general purpose blade. When I rip lumber with the 60 tooth it frequently leaves burn marks regardless of the feed rate. I've been doing a lot of reading on line and most of the recommendations say that I should have a 40 tooth, thin kerf, Hi-ATB for a general purpose blade. I then read some reviews that say the more expensive blades are well worth the difference in cost due to the quality of the cut which saves additional milling steps. The prices vary widely. For example, on Amazon the price of a Freud Diablo 10-inch, 40 tooth, ATB, thin kerf is about $30. The Freud P410T 10-Inch by 40-Teeth 30-Degree Hi-ATB Premier Fusion Thin Kerf goes for almost $75. That's a big difference but if it reduces burning and additional planning it could well be worth it. So, the question is, at well over twice the price, is it worth it? Does anyone have any experience with both lower priced and higher priced blades and seen a difference that's worth the price? One additional note, the very high priced blades, that go for over $100 are out of my price range.

Reactions: Jerry Bowen

·
Registered
15,459 Posts