Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My name is John and I live in the fairly small town of Sanger, Texas, about 30 miles north of DFW and 30 miles south of the Texas Oklahoma border. I'm retired Navy (1980-2000) and retired for good in March of this year. Since retiring, I'm having a blast in my stand alone shop, learning how to use all the toys I've bought over the years. Since I'm new to woodworking, I'm learning by building shop "furniture" to store all those toys, and building jigs to build that furniture.

I am new to routers. I just recently bought the Bosch 1617EVSPK and love the plunge base. I have built a router table that has a melamine top and am now looking at plates to mount the fixed base to. I've kind of narrowed it down to either the Kreg insert plate that's predrilled for the PC and Bosch routers and the Woodpeckers cast aluminum plate. While more expensive, I really like the Woodpecker tools (I own a bunch of them), and it appears that I can mount the plate fairly easily with the template I can also buy.

Kreg has a good reputation also and while it would be a bit cheaper to buy their plate (probably because of the phenolic material instead of the aluminum), I would also have to buy their leveling hardware, so the mounting process would be different.

I look forward to learning what I can here and possibly even contribute in some small way at some point. Here's a couple of pics of my shop.

Attachments

·
Registered
31,264 Posts

·
Registered
2,042 Posts