Router Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a new member to the forum. I have the opportunity to purchase a Grizzly G1035 1 ½ HP Shaper for $350 including the Router Spindle Attachment. Two speeds – 7000 & 10,000 rpm.

Questions:
1. What can I do with a router table that I cannot do with a shaper or what limitations does a shaper have vs. a router table?

2. The Grizzly shaper’s max speed is 10,000 RPM. Will that be a problem “normal” router bits?

3. Does Porter Cable make a base for the 6902 Motor that allows for above the table height adjustment?

Background:
1. I am fairly new to woodworking and new to routers.

2. I do not have a Router Table, but want one. This is for a home shop. My primary use will be for edge profiles, dados, rabbets, tongue and groove joints, etc. I do not plan on making any cabinet doors at this time.

3. I have:
a. DEWALT DW618 2-1/4 HP Electronic Variable Speed Three Base Router Kit (8,000 to 24,000 RPM)
b. Porter Cable 6902 1-3/4 Horsepower Single Speed Router (27,500 RPM) with 1001 Fixed Base that I picked up at an estate sale.
c. Neither router seems to allow offer a base that allows for above-the-table height adjustment.

4. I’d prefer to buy a router table or shaper than build one. I’d rather spend my time on other projects at this time.

5. I’ve looked at router tables made by Rockler, Freud, Kreg, Bench Dog and others. Another I found interesting is the Adroni RS-500 on Ebay.

6. It seems that the ability to adjust the router bit height from above the table would greatly simplify the process. But the routers I have do not have that capability.

7. If I get a shaper, I plan to use it like a router table with router bits.

I have no experience using a router table. The shaper seems to have a lot of features for an attractive price (easy adjustment of router bit height, above table router bit replacement, dust collection).

Thanks. Robert

·
Bargains Finder
770 Posts