Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK router geniuses!!! throughout the router forum, i have noticed that some people actually end up making a router table to benefit there needs. some people have told me to use a counter top to use for the router table top. with that i just came across a brand new 31" wide counter top that i would like to use to build the table top. it is 31" long by 21" wide. could someone please help me out by explaining how to build one of these router tables? i am very new to wood working and would like to build my own router center but not sure if it is more for an advanced woodworker or fine for a rookie as myself. iv'e noticed that rockler sells a router table plate that lays in the hole in the top of the table but im not sure how t even begin to cut out the needed slot. any help would be appreciated.

reds_21 :confused:

·
Retired Moderator
5,688 Posts
Hi Reds_21, I too plan on building my router table when the time comes and like yourself, I am a rookie. I have been looking at the set up at Oak-Park at this link

http://www.oak-park.com/usa12.html

40620 Kit which includes plans for constructing the table as well.

You may want to check it out.

There are many plans out there for router tables from super simple to the ultimate. You may even want to check out Norm Abram's router center at the New Yankee Workshop, it is a cadillac for sure and I know many have used his plan as a model to build from.

Keep us posted on your progress.

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
router table continued

this is reds_21,,,,,,below is the counter top that i was able to come across that i wanted to use towards my home made routing table. you will notice that it has the built in splash guard. do i have to do away with it or is there an advantage to it????? it measures 31 x 21,,,is that too small or is it usable? :)

Attachments

·
Registered
387 Posts
Hi, Red_21: