Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

Read Only
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

My name is Kaitlyn and I am new to the world of dust collection and woodworking.

I currently work in marketing at an dust collector filter company, and I can say that it's a whole new ballgame!

I have a degree in Media Production and am new to the world of manufacturing, dust collection, and woodworking.

So pardon my questions if I ask too many, just trying to learn. Thanks! 馃槈

Registered
I'm a throat cancer survivor and some woods' sawdust is carcinogenic so I'm often bringing up dust collection. There are a number of others, including Stick 486, who post often posts on the topic. Stick has a lot of pdfs I hope he will post for your benefit. We have lots of newbies here so entry level information is always welcome. We have never minded when manufactureres come on and share useful information, but you will want to make sure there is no effort to sell or merely promote product sales. That has gotten a number of people kicked off the site in the past. Just a heads up.

I do have a question. Some filters have what I call a beater bar that is installed in the filter to knock off sawdust that builds up on the filter material. What is the official name for that device. We generally like that gadget because you con't have to remove the filter or hope blowing air into through it does the job.

And welcome to the Forum. We're always happy to share.

I've attached a pdf of the 18 things that helped me speed up the learning process. You might find it helpful. I did and taught marketing (to eye docs) for almost 40 years, and I remember how it was getting started in a new field. The pdf is 10 pages with pictures so you can see the tools and such your filters will be working with.

Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
Glad you're here Kaitlyn and welcome to the forum! Add your first name to your profile to clear the N/a in the side panel and also add your location.