Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

My name is Travis and I live in southeast Michigan. I am a marine corps veteran, an audiophile, and an avid DIYer!

I have a 7.2.4 Dolby Atmos speaker system in the living room (4 in-ceiling speakers, 4 in-wall speakers, front left,right,center, a few dedicated subwoofers and bass shakers in the sectional) and I absolutely love watching movies now. I've hit a wall (pun intended!) as it would simply cost me an astronomical amount of money to upgrade that system further (law of diminishing returns).

So now I decided to get more into woodworking! I decided my first project would be to create a pair of replica speakers, based on the BBC's LS3/5a studio monitors. I've built the cabinets and crossovers, so now it's just a matter of flush mounting the drivers, making the edges look professional, sanding, painting, sanding, painting, painting, sanding, and finally some painting.

I also recently picked up a 1951 ShopSmith 10ER multipurpose machine. I never knew such a thing existed... A multi-tool, sure, but not a multi-tool 300lb machine! These things are cool and I'd suggest looking em up if you are curious!

Lastly, it's probably important to mention which routers I use.
My primary router right now is a handheld Dewalt 20V. The portability is great and it certainly has some oomph! It's fun to use.
I picked up one of those made-in-Italy Dewalt DW625 3-HP Plunge base routers from a for sale ad online for $100. I didn't really think I needed it but that was an awesome deal and now I'm excited to use it for a router table!

See you around,
Travis

·
Registered
4,625 Posts
Welcome, Travis...it certainly sounds like you're already "into woodworking"...you'll get "more" on this Forum for sure...

Have fun and stay safe...!

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
Hello Travis and welcome to the forums...