Router Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am a retired Civil Engineer and spent my career in the heavy construction business. My woodworking experience was gained over the years through Various home renovations and, after retirement, building our own home on Gabriola Island, BC, Canada. I have also done some modest outdoor furniture, arbors, cabinets, sailboat doors etc. I was attracted to this forum for 2 reasons: 1) because I have a problem with my router 2) because I am interested in learning more about the diverse uses of routers. Members of the Forum have a wealth of experience in this area and are very generous in sharing that experience to help others. I look forward to learning and helping if I can.

I will post details of my router problem in the appropriate (I hope) category.

George McEwan

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
welcome N/A aka George...

so what is the difficulties you are having w/ your router???...

because I am interested in learning more about the diverse uses of routers.
here at this link you'll find some useful knowledge that's been put together on routers...
if it isn't enough we have more...

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
@newby331...

could you fill in your profile please...

·
Registered
22,020 Posts
Welcome to the Forum. Retirement on an island is a fantasy many here entertain. Filling in your basic equipment list is often helpful in responding to your questions. Versatile as a router is, sometimes it's better to use another tool.

Meanwhile, you might go to YouTube and look up the videos by Marc Sommerfeld. There's no safety gear so the camera can see the action, but he is a master cabinet maker who got into the router business. His videos will open your eyes to all kinds of tricks and tips. And his technique is very simple and direct. I have the whole set of his videos on disk, and watch the most appropriate one before I take on a project.

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood