1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all.

I'm a new woodworker and just picked up a router like this one:
canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/maximum-fixed-plunge-router-0546810p.html

In hindsight, I should have gotten a smaller/lighter one as this one is pretty bulky to work with.
I suppose it's versatile since it can take 1/4 and 1/2" bits, but I don't know if I'll need to use 1/2" bits.

I'm having a hard time removing bits after using the router, but it looks like I'll have to turn the collet more to get it to self-release. I'll try that when I get home.

Hope to find some good info here. Thanks!

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
hello N/A and welcome to the foru7ms...
new guy ya sat w/ collet issues...
have we got a self help section for you...
much of which can not be ignored or treated lightly ESPECIALLY SAFETY...

there are PDF's here on safety, maintenance, methods, jigs, tooling, accessories, aides,
set up, and so much more...

PLEASE take the time to read them.. Your health, welfare and safety matter here...

http://www.routerforums.com/general-routing/133402-welcome-forums.html

·
Registered
445 Posts
CT Router

Welcome to Router Forums!!
That looks like a pretty good Router to start with; 2 hp and versatile use. You WILL get into using 1/2" bits sooner or later. This router has enough HP to drive some of the larger cutters. May I suggest you investigate using a "MUSCLECHUCK" with your new Router! A bit costly, but you won't be sorry for investing in total safety with this chuck adaptation. I've never had a bit slip or come loose with a MUSCLECHUCK. I've not used a CT brand router before. Hope you will do a review here for us soon. Hope it's all good times for you now that you are very well equipped.
Happy routering/woodworking.

·
Registered
15,459 Posts
Hey, Tap; welcome!