Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!

Happy I found this forum. I've got some woodworking experience but looking to buy my first router, a table-mounted router. As a complete newbie to the world of routers, I look forward to learning!

Chris

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forums Chris...
We're happy you found us...

About that inquisitiveness of yours... We are all over that, we can help, we can, w/ have some ''light reading'' for you...
Gathered together is a bunch of pertinent/relative information in this here link ... You should find everything (at least most) quite useful, a lot of help and get you off to a running start in the world of routers... Enjoy...

Do take some time and read the safety PDF's... PLEASE!!!
Blood and trips to the ER, we find, are very annoying... Not to mention – expensive...

We do welcome all questions on about any subject you can come up w/ too....
Not only that, we excel at spending your money...

·
Registered
15,459 Posts
Hey, Chris; welcome! And a big thank you for filling out some bio!! :)
You might want to consider one of the routers that come in a kit with both fixed and plunge bases (for example the Bosch 1617EVSPK).
You won't need the plunge base for the table setup, but there are a lot of things you can do with a freehand plunge router that are just easier.
There are two camps here at the Forum; one side hardly ever, and don't like, freehand routing, and the other side (myself!) that do a lot of freehand routing. Neither group is right or wrong, just personal preferences.
An example might be doing roundovers on the corners of a an 8'-2x12...say a bookcase solid wood gable. That's a heavy chunk of wood1 Laying it flat on a work area and freehand routing the edges with either a bearing guided bit and /or an edge guide is simply more practical than trying to muscle it through a table.

·
Super Moderator
John
6,962 Posts