Router Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone,
I am Jean from Western Australia. I am a folk artist who loves doing all sorts of paper crafts like decoupage and card making and I also design pretty graphics for paper crafts people which I post on the internet through my daily blog.

I started woodworking when I was about 8 years old when I asked my Dad to make little hangers for my doll clothes. He sat me down at his pedal powered scroll saw and after breaking most of his saw blades, I had all the hangers I could ever want. I gave up on woodworking a couple days after that but, 55 years later I took up the hobby again when I found a bin outside a furniture factory in Armadale, WA marked "FREE FIREWOOD" I bought a router, table saw, and other smaller toys and this time set about turning the firewood into key racks, canister, rope handled boxes and signs which I would decorate with folk art painting and decoupage prints that I designed myself. For the past 6 years or so I have mainly been doing graphics but I now see the need to get off the computer and join the real world again.

I am now 70 and my latest hobby is the best of all ... ... bookbinding ... ... which I really love, mostly because it has started my creative juices flowing again, I can combine it with different paper crafts, painting, scroll saw cut-outs, even sewing, quilting, beading, scrapbooking techniques, copper tooling etc.

I found this forum while searching the net for instructions on how to do some routing on the cover of a special coffee table book with an Egyptian theme that I am planning to make for my daughter.

Thank you for letting me join this group,

Jean

·
Registered
10,715 Posts
G'Day mate and welcome to the RouterForums. Where are you located in Western Australia? Anywhere near Perth?

·
Official Greeter
18,811 Posts
Dave,

re anywhere near Perth,

Gosnells is a suburb of Perth about 25kms north of Harry. (I think)