Router Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, my name is Gary Wiant, my wife & I own Vinyl Graphics Unlimited, a sign shop in western PA. We have been in business since 1995. About 20 years ago we built our new shop & had to decide between expanding our business with buying either a digital printer or a CNC router, we chose a digital printer which I am happy about but now it's time to expand again, this time I chose CNC over a Laser or 3D Printer.

I'm relatively new to CNC. Last summer I found a used DIY Machine Tool Camp 4'x8' router. I admit straight off the top that I probably didn't do my homework on it, but I wanted a router to learn on & see if we could build some customers & create some work with it. Unfortunately the machine isn't rigid enough to route any faster than 20 inches per minute without it chattering. It came with a Milwaukee router on it & after I leveled the table the very next job the route blew up, so I purchased a Huan Yang VFD & air cooled 2.2 KW spindle, i got it wired up & running to find that I was getting interference because of the power cable not being shielded, i said enough is enough.

Last week I ordered a CNC Router Parts Pro 4'x8' router with their Nema 34 PNP electronics & their 2.2 KW spindle & VFD, & I'm going to build a vacuum table for it.

Im very excited to get it in & get it set up, but I am new to CNC so I'm sure I'll have a ton of question about everything from software, correct bits, feeds & speeds to finishing.

Hopefully I'll soon be able to start giving back advise.

Thank you
Gary

·
Super Moderator
John
6,962 Posts
Hello and welcome to the router forum, Gary

·
Premium Member
20,509 Posts