Router Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, just joined this forum. I am new to wood working and need help selecting a router that I can use for a long time and don't need to upgrade in 5 years. Thank you for letting me join this group.
-Naseem

·
Super Moderator
John
6,962 Posts
Hello and welcome to the router forum Naseem
Which router to buy big question everyone has a opinion mine is 2.25 hp fixed and plunge bases with speed control go to a place that you can physically can look at and touch and feel. Like everything there are cheap and high priced you may want to find a used one to start out with
If this hobby get in your blood you will Eventually own more than one router. good luck

Reactions: naseemr and Marco

·
Registered
668 Posts
Welcome.... the problem with wanting a long lasting router is the new ones may not be made like the old ones.

When I went to Sears to buy a new push mover the guy who had been there over 30 years looked at me and said " We don't make 20 year mowers no more"

Do you have a router you prefer? A brand? I believe woodworkers are color coded. They seem to chase certain color tools:D

·
Registered
1,690 Posts
I don't own one but would recommend The Bosch 1617EVSPK . I have 2 of the Craftsman version which is no longer manufactured and the Bosch will serve you well. Handheld for edge forming and plunge and strong enough for most of the tasks in the router table. Like John suggested you can look, touch, and or feel at the store. Both Home Depot and Lowes carry it. The quality and customer service will both be there in 5 years... BTW Welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
Theo
7,182 Posts