Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

This is my first post and I'm not only a newbie here at routerforums but I'm also a total newbie to woodworking to the point that I haven't even purchased a router or table saw yet.

I have a very specific need for a project that will require making hundreds of evenly spaced dadoes/grooves and really need help figuring out the easiest way of doing it.

I'm making roughly 2' x 4' acoustical diffusers that will need to have a groove/dado that is only 3/16" wide (for undersized 1/4" plywood), 3/8" deep, and spaced exactly 1.5" apart.

I will be making at least 20 of these, and each one will have 12 grooves spaced 1.5" apart, only 3/16" wide and 3/8" deep.

I was originally going to buy a table saw and dado set but I cannot find a dado set that will allow me to cut under 1/4" wide dadoes.

I then thought about buying a thin kerf blade and regular kerf blade and just stacking them to make my own cheap dado set but I'm having a lot of trouble finding two blades that equal exactly 3/16" to fit my 1/4" nominal plywood.

To help visualize what I'm making (since I cannot post links yet) just think of slatwall panels only instead of t-shaped grooves they will just be flat/straight grooves and instead of the slats being 2.5"-3" wide, they will only be 1.5" wide.

I've looked at several home made exact width dado jigs for a router, but it would take forever (and probably wouldn't be very accurate and I do need accuracy for this project) to measure and line up 12 grooves per board and then do it 20 times or more... That's a minimum of 240 measurements, unclamping, clamping, etc.

I want to make a jig that will allow me to cut perfect 3/16" wide, 3/8" deep dadoes/grooves spaced 1.5" apart and make it as easily as possibly and fool proof as possible since I have no experience.