Router Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey There!

I was just given a new Craftsman router with bit set for a gift in order to help with building a table for a Big Green Egg grill.

Anyhow, I am a true rookie when it comes to building. The only thing I have built is a changing table for my daughter (which actually turned out well). I did use a table router in that project.

My main concern is how to cut the hole in the table top and what bit to use? I'm planning on cutting through a 2x6 top (I was also given lots of 2x6s). I could change that material if that is too thick? It needs to be a 21" hole. Once it is cut, I was thinking of smoothing it over with a round over bit; how much would that change the opening of the hole?

Also, when rounding the edges of the 2x6's, which bit? Will it cover a board that thick?

Sorry for all the questions, but like the title says, I'm a rookie. Any input, links, videos would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Ya'll !!

·
Registered
11,921 Posts
Tim, do you want the grill to fit into the table top? Is the grill 21" diameter? How much clearance is allowed around the grill?

·
Registered
133 Posts
Hey There!

I was just given a new Craftsman router with bit set for a gift in order to help with building a table for a Big Green Egg grill.

Anyhow, I am a true rookie when it comes to building. The only thing I have built is a changing table for my daughter (which actually turned out well). I did use a table router in that project.

My main concern is how to cut the hole in the table top and what bit to use? I'm planning on cutting through a 2x6 top (I was also given lots of 2x6s). I could change that material if that is too thick? It needs to be a 21" hole. Once it is cut, I was thinking of smoothing it over with a round over bit; how much would that change the opening of the hole?

Also, when rounding the edges of the 2x6's, which bit? Will it cover a board that thick?