Router Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I make my living as a carpenter doing mostly finish work and only buy quality tools. I use a router for adding details to and making small custom casing. Also for dadoing and making mortices. I want a 1 3/4 - 2 1/4 HP Combo kit. I had a Bosch 1604 for several years and never warmed up to it. Adjusting the router and fence were frustrating. I've been looking at the PC 890 series, Bosch 1617 and Makita RF 1101. The Makita fixed base feels best in my hand, but haven't been able to see and feel the plunge base. The Bosch seems to adjust easier than the PC. The last night while at sears I saw they had a Craftsman obvioulsy made by Bosch (130.26620)$30 cheaper. It's exact except fr color. I saw parts diagrams online and they have the same parts numbers. Then I saw a 2HP (320.26620) that is very silmilar to the PC 890 series. BUT! they added 3 LED lights in the base. Something I've been wanting for years. They also added a light to show it's plugged in and to me made an improvement in the height adjuster. It costs $109! That's about $150 cheaper than the PC890. Tried talking to PC which is now Dewalt. Looked up parts diagrams on Sears and PC service centers and they are similar but not like the Bosch/ sears diagrams. Is it possible PC is making this? Where would they cut costs? Anybody own one? I'm going to post a separate thread about this router. Many thanks, Tony Pellegrino

·
Registered
54 Posts
Welcome Tony, dont have that answer for you. I gave up on Sears tools years ago because of the exclusiveness of their parts plus I couldn't stand dealing with their customer service. Have stuck with PC and Makita for the most part ever since. I still have a 25 yr old 1hp Craftsman router that for the most part I use for laminate and edging but that is it. Hope it works out for you.

·
Registered
265 Posts