Router Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi There Fraternity.

Anyone who happens to read any of my posts will know I’m a cheap poor retired plumber from Scotland, where arms are short and pockets are deep.

The reason I am writing this is that I require from some of American cousins some help in the coming months.

Now my son and his family live in the Katy district of Houston around the Cinco Ranch area and my good wife Evelyn and I spend a considerable time annoying them with visits.

We usually head out there from May to the end of August, but this year it’s Oct to end of Jan, mainly to get a free meal at thanksgiving and maybe a Christmas present. In truth my wife wanted to see your Halloween as we get loads of great photos of our grandchildren enjoying themselves.

Now here’s the down side. I can’t take my workshop with me. Most of the time I’m bored out of my skull. He lives in an affluent part of town where residents don’t do anything, every job from cutting the grass to putting up the Christmas decorations is carried out by a man in a van. It’s alien to me but accepted regime there. I feel defunct

Over the years of visiting I have built up a basic tool collection, mainly sourced from pawn shops in and around Houston, and I have included a few photos of my projects, just to keep me busy.

About 15mins drive we have a Home Depot and a Lowes. But after your seventh or eighth visit the staff start to get suspicion that you are casing the joint.

So, what I am enquiring about for any members of the forum that live in the area is any info on places to visit between Oct and Jan, whether it be hardware or lumber shops or exhibitions that will keep me out of trouble.

What I often do is visit open show houses of which there are many, just to see the building techniques adopted.

So, there it is lads any forthcoming info very much appreciated.