Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

Glad to have found the forum. After going bug eyed reading review after review on several products until absolutely lost I threw in best 3 1/4 hp router and found the forum

I am a self employed contractor, have been for the last 12 years, I guess i have a bit of an authority problem :haha: I do everything from the foundation to the roof, but have always preferred finish work. Recently i have grown very tired of completing mediocre projects that fit ppls budgets and dealing with service all together. I personally feel products are where its at these days and come with less headaches. I recently agreed to build a custom headboard for a long time returning client. They wanted a replica for a Thomasville panel king headboard just oversized. In doing this project i believe i have touched on something that is truly satisfying to the soul and would love to possibly get into using my love for woodworking and creativity to produce some furniture pieces i could throw into a few stores and see what happens.

So without writing a novel about the details working through this project quickly led me to the need for a router with a 1/2" collet to accept bits for raised panels.(which i am also going to need advice on) Cost currently a big concern as funds are low with number of things im looking to get to finish this out right.

I had seen a hitachi 2 1/4 hp router at lowes without the plunge attachment for like $89.00. I have used a buddys hitachi batt. drill and it seemed to work well even compared to my hilti. I have a couple of hitachi finish guns and am pleased with them.