Router Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As my name implies, I'm a newbie router-man in the Metro Baton Rouge area. I am currently involved in a year-long flood reconstruction project on a building owned by a non-profit organization to which I belong. It's been slow going with all volunteer labor (weekends and some nights), but we are coming up on the final stretch, cabinets and trim. Although I have a general knowledge of woodworking, I have never used a router before, so I have several basic questions.

1. I have been evaluating different routers and looking at router tables, with the main goal being to construct raised panels for the cabinets. Would a 2 1/4 hp such as the Bosch 1617EVS be sufficient for this, or should I look at a 3 1/4 hp like the Hitachi M12V2?

2. for the windows, I'm planning to use a bull nose bit to create a rounded sill with no lip on 1-inch stock. However, since 1-inch stock is actually 3/4", should I use a 1-inch or a 3/4-inch cut diameter bit?

3. What should I look for in a router table? Right now, I'm leaning toward the Bosch RA1181 table. Any other recommendations?

This is probably more information than anyone cares about, but I wanted to let you know a little about the situation. I am by no means a carpenter by trade or hobby, just a guy trying to do the right thing for a good organization.

Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Premium Member
17,427 Posts
Welcome to the forum. I'm sure the experts will have some advise for you shortly, but now that you've introduced yourself, I'd post in an applicable area that would get more traffic .
A first name in your profile is always nice :)

·
Registered
159 Posts
Welcome!

For making raised panels, I would recommend a table router system.
the bits are big and heavy.

M12V2 Hitachi seems to me the best one fore big jobs...
The Big battle horse!

Regards.
Gerard

·
Registered
15,459 Posts