Router Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a married 58 yo woodworker, retired/disabled. My thing is the lathe. I love the challenge is working the lathe to diversify and do as many different types of things I can make. I also like sculpture and have taken college level sculpture classes that I did just average. That of course was before I was drafted into the Army way back in 1970, during Vietnam. I've also make many other things of wood. I have a gallery on Lumberjocks.com, and my handle there is Jockmike2.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Welcome

I'm a married 58 yo woodworker, retired/disabled. My thing is the lathe. I love the challenge is working the lathe to diversify and do as many different types of things I can make. I also like sculpture and have taken college level sculpture classes that I did just average. That of course was before I was drafted into the Army way back in 1970, during Vietnam. I've also make many other things of wood. I have a gallery on Lumberjocks.com, and my handle there is Jockmike2.
Not so old and ready to go, welcome

·
Registered
10,671 Posts
Welcome to the forum Mike, you can find answers here to questions you haven't even thought up yet.

·
Registered
1,616 Posts
There are many "cauls" but a "clamping caul" is this:

http://www.newwoodworker.com/cauls.html

I do not totally agree with this links definition becasue there are plenty of curved cauls that are not used the way he describes. I think a better definition might be:

A device or shaped piece of wood or other material used to spread out the pressure evenly from clamps while gluing something up.

I think a clamping caul has more to do with the pressure being evenly applied than just aligning pieces, at least that's how I always thought of it.

·
Registered
2,881 Posts
There are many "cauls" but a "clamping caul" is this:

http://www.newwoodworker.com/cauls.html