Router Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just found this forum when searching for router bits.

I've been woodworking for many years, but just now really get back into it. My last project was a king sized headboard in oak, with crown molding, to match our other bedroom furniture. I am presently building a corner china cabinet for my oldest daughter (gor married this summer, and I've already made a built-in DVD-CD bookcase for her fixer-upper home).

I just bought the new Ridgid 2-base router set -- I'm really impressed so far. I plan to put it into my Rockler table using the JessEm lift (the Ridgid is Porter-Cable compatible). My Craftsman goes into my table saw (A Ryobi BT-3100, one of the few Ryobi tools I've been pretty enamored with). I have a 30-year old Craftsman radial arm saw I just refurbished (my first saw). I've also got a small bandsaw (eyeing the Powermatic 14"), a Ryobi scrollsaw (OK), a Ridgid miter saw, a Dewalt 13" planer (finest single tool I own), a Ridgid 6" jointer (can you see a pattern here?!), and lots of power hand tools.

I also have a very old Craftsman Professional 1HP router -- one of my favorite tools. Great balance, solid but pretty lightweight. And now, maybe just a bit underpowered, compared to modern routers!

I'm anxious to learn about favorite companies for bits, etc.

Lee

·
Banned
11,934 Posts
Welcome Lee. Whiteside is pretty much undisputed as being the best you can buy. MLCS offers a very large selection of decent quality bits for good prices. There are many bit reviews for you to check out. Woodcraft runs a different Whiteside bit on sale each month for 25% off, and they frequently offer 20 different styles of their own bits for $5 each. These are of similar quality to what MLCS offers.

·
Registered
10,714 Posts