Router Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
hi:

my real name is jun sanchez and i am from the philippines. i make acrylic display cases for a living (sample pix of a few of them are included herewith).

do note that my cases are 100% hand-built without the aid of any special tool or machine (except for a bench grinder which was converted into a sander). they are hand-cut, hand-sanded and hand-rubbed/buffed. so you can imagine the amount of time i spend just to finish each case. since i want to increase my production, i know that mechanizing is the only way to go. i would like to start by making a table router.

since makita is widely-available in my country, i am most likely to buy this brand. these are the makita models that i can choose from: 3620, 3601B, 3600H, 3612 and 3612BR. Which of these models, do you think are the best for a newbie like me? i also need help on how i can start making a table for it.

any suggestion on this matter will be greatly appreciated. you may also contact me via my e-mail address - junsanchezs2003 (at) yahoo.com

thank you so much.

jun

·
The Router Guys
768 Posts
Nice looking cases jun!

I think you need a solid router and my choice is the 3612BR because it is the larger of the bunch and will last longer in production.

1) In your case I think you will want to eliminate the sanding and buffing stages of the process. The router is a good choice. For this I think you need to set the router up as a jointer. See the link for more info.
http://www.routerforums.com/showthread.php?t=242

2) As for the router table the quickest way is to mount the router to a piece plywood then hang the plywood and router over the edge of the work bench. Permanently set up this router with the jointer fence to trim the rough cut edges and you will save yourself many hours of hard work.