Router Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a complete novice with respect to routers, and although I've read all the pertinent M12V stuff on the web I can find, I'm still a little stumped. I bought a Bosch cabinet style table-top router table at Lowes the other day on clearance. It has a nice tall fence and an aluminum plate, which I'll need to custom drill for the M12V's baseplate. That much I've got. My hangups are these:

1. My router came with the "fine adjustment" rod/knob...What is it's role in a table mounted application?

2. Do I really need to take the plunge springs out? Why or why not?

3. When the router is mounted on the table, do I want it compressed all the way, or extended all the way?

4. Do I really need to to saw the guideplate adapter ears off to swing big bits like panel raising bits? Isn't the bit going to be above the ears anyway? Why would Hitachi make something you have to destroy to be usable?

I have a real problem with spacial visualization, and I just can't figure out how raising/lowering the bit works in a table setup. Sorry for the ignorance, but if anyone can spell this stuff out for me, I'd really appreciate it. Hopefully, sometime I can return the favor.

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
Hi vwmowery

The web site below is a great place to take a look around if you have a Hitachi router many HOW TO demo pages for the Hitachi user.

http://www.woodshopdemos.com/menu2.htm

Bj :)
(1.) see URL link
(2.) yes, if you are going to use your router in a table
(3.) see URL link
(4.) see URL link ,I don't recommend it, but it will give you more room to get to the bit and many user of the Hitachi do remove it but it's up to you.

Bj :)

·
Registered
533 Posts
1. My router came with the "fine adjustment" rod/knob...What is it's role in a table mounted application?
Adjusting the router bit height in small increments to exact height or dept of cut.