Router Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
After finishing remodeling the nursery and rounding up a few latest jobs, it became clear to me that my miter saw is due for an upgrade.

The one I’ve been using for the past 3 years was the C10FSHC by Hitachi/Metabo HPT:

It was plenty for my needs as it replaced a 12” Admiral that I struggled with for nearly 2 years. But for the last couple of months I started having a distinct feeling that it isn’t nearly as good as it used to be for a variety of reasons, be it the depth of cut, the accuracy, its ability to hold calibration etc. Long short, I was shopping for an upgrade.

The criteria for choosing a new saw were: a) accuracy and reliability and b) sturdiness and weight (since it’s destined to be a jobsite saw).

My list of candidates included (in order of preference):

Bosch GCM12SD
Makita LS1219L
Delta Cruzer
DeWalt DW780

I couldn’t go wrong with the DeWalt. It’s a reliable, foolproof contractor slider with a middle-of-the-road price tag and all the necessary features. Yes, it’s a dirty screamer but who cares with a jobsite saw. The deal breaker was the footprint with the rear sliding rails. The rest were fine in every way but a price that was somewhat painful, except for the Delta - which is, essentially, a budget GCM12SD, but I’d also gamble with the quality. Speaking of GCM12SD, I was also put off by the weight; it scores a whooping 80+ lbs and I wasn’t looking for deadlifts on a job site.