Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,046 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m building a bandsaw as a hobby from a YouTube video which I modified to suite my needs. Most if not all the videos I have seen have two wheels but I want to used 4 wheels as per attached picture (2 wheels of 6”OD + 2 wheels of 1.5”OD). I have no experience with bandsaws and I wonder if it’s a bad idea to use 4 wheels instead of 2 wheels.

If successful it will be used for homemade crafts.

Attachments

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
4,196 Posts
I would say the alignment difficulty goes up exponentially with each wheel past two. But maybe you'll get lucky and it will work. If there's a way to do it with just two wheels I think you'll like and use the saw a lot more.

David

·
Registered
1,046 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Now I understand the popularity of the 2 wheels and I agree. I will give it a try and if not successful (most likely I will not be!) I will switch to the 2 wheels.

To keep the same frame I figure I will need 7”OD wheels and the max. width of my cuts will go down to around 6.7”.

My thanks to both

·
Registered
1,998 Posts
Good point Paul but the min. radius for this thin scroll blade is 1/4” (blade is 59.5” long, 15TPI)
You misunderstand, that quoted radius is of the CUT in soft wood. NOT the amount of side bend you can put on the blade.
The blade will break, again, and again, and again.
4 wheels... DOOMED to failure. (Theres a good reason why nobody in the world makes a 4 wheel bandsaw)
3 wheels... there are three wheel bandsaws, but they are notoriously difficult to get running properly.
2 wheels... theres a reason 95% of bandsaws have two wheels.:wink:

·
Registered
860 Posts
You misunderstand, that quoted radius is of the CUT in soft wood. NOT the amount of side bend you can put on the blade.
The blade will break, again, and again, and again.