Router Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm starting a new project that I can actually show pictures of, so I thought I'd sort of "blog" the project as I go. Feel free to ask questions or give suggestions.

The project is to make a lap tray to hold the Apple's "magic" keyboard and trackpad. I want to have them in roughly the same orientation as they would be in one of their laptops, because that is what I am most accustomed to.

The reason I am making this is because I like to use my TV as a computer display, and I want a keyboard and trackpad I can use while I'm sitting on the couch. The Apple keyboard and trackpad are roughly the same as what is found on my laptop, so they were the obvious choice.

The prototype I have been using for a few months was made from pink foam board, and I routed it out using a hand held router and a crude jig with sliding gantry. Then I surfaced it with a layer of fiberglass to make it rigid. It has done it's job; it has proven that the general design and concept works.

From the beginning I have been wanting to make this out of carbon fiber. Why? Because why not? But seriously, it is more experience for me with the whole digital design process, and it will give me more experience designing composite parts.

Below is the CAD file I'm working with (Rhino). This is the idea I have been playing with, and at the moment I just want to make the part on the CNC to test it. I am not sure what the correct tolerances are, the correct depth, etc.

There are a few details that may stand out. There is a recessed area in both cavities--that is meant for velcro to hold the keyboard and trackpad down. I thought it would be a good idea, but I haven't really needed it.