Router Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone.

I'm new to the community and the home based business as well. A near fatal heart condition has recently left me looking for an alternative income. I've been a part time hobbyist for years and enjoy crafting very much. I recently set up shop at home and am currently working on an idea I hope to market soon. The problem I've run into is the easiest way to router the inner lip on the inside of a circular picture frame. Do I need to hold and turn each frame against the router bit by hand or is there a jig pattern I can lock the frames into (one at a time of course) and just turn the jig? I'd appreciate any suggestions offered in helping me get past this. Thanks.

William ONeil

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Thanks John, I'll try it that way. Would you suggest I use a jig to router out the lips before cutting out the actual circle frames? My concern is how to stop the frames from spinning free of my grip if I cut them out first. Some are as small as 3" inside diameter. I tried dropping them into a circle jig but had to scar the outer edge to hold them in place. Would you know of an excellent non-slip material I could place underneath? Being new to this I'm not sure of the force of the router in turning them as it cuts.

·
Official Greeter
18,811 Posts
Hi Bill, welcome to the forum.

I would make a template and a jig to hold the work piece.

·
Registered
2,369 Posts
Hello everyone.