Router Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a pdf image of a wasteboard (attached) for a small cnc router. I need to get the wasteboard cut and it will be cheaper if I provide the plan itself in a dfx format rather than having the Cutshop convert it.

I am just starting out with CNC and am trying to learn the various CAD programmes but I am nowhere at the stage of being able to convert this in Inkscape or anything else

If I have to wait until I have done a heap of Tutorials before I can do it myself I'll be old and doddery before I can assemble the CNC (hang on I already am old and doddery).

Can anyone point me to a Noddies Guide that would help me do the conversion.

I have Inkscape, Fusion 360 and a trial version of Vcarve but have only just started online tutorials.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,216 Posts
Vcarve can import PDFs so long as they have vectors in them rather the bitmaps. Unfortunately I don't believe the trial version can export as a DXF like the paid version can. Of course if you can find someone here with a paid version then perhaps they'll be nice enough to import then export to .DXF for you. As DXF file aren't one of the allowable formats it may appear as a ZIP file you'll need to unzip.

4D

Attachments

·
Administrator
David
3,976 Posts
If that's just a rectangle with pockets and holes then that can be drawn in Fusion 360 in about 30 minutes. The time consuming part will be dimensioning for the various holes but even if you're as anal and OCD as me it shouldn't take more than 45 minutes.

I'm knee deep in trying to get a rush job ready for Tuesday morning or I would just draw it for you. Once I get this job done I should have some free time if you're still needing it.

David

·
Registered
51 Posts