Router Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, forum and routing newbie here...

I am looking into the idea of using scaffold boards for garden fencing, dropped into slotted posts (concrete or galvanised).

Grade B boards work out about less per sq m than a decent fence panel, and then factoring in a 3.6m/12’ span results in a 50% reduction in posts and concrete, and less labour (I’ll be paying someone to erect it), so it becomes quite a cheap system.

But they are square edged, so I thought I’d T&G them.

I’ve got a ½” 1850W router (Elu MOF 177/02) in a table. So a few questions:

Cutting the groove down the centre of the board should be straightforward enough, but for the tongue does anybody know if I’ll find a bit that will cope with 38mm (1½”) stock, or will I have to do 2 passes with a rabetting cutter?

What sort of feed rate should I plan to get, allowing for cooling intervals (the cutter, not me)? Boards are softwood - typically spruce or pine.

And cutter life? I’d have 500-odd metres of boards to do.

·
Registered
22,199 Posts
1.5 inches wide. I think you could do T&G on a router table if the boards are straight, not warped at all. You could use a half inch cutter that cuts a flat bottom, and cut the groove first. Then reset the bit to trim away half an inch from the edge and pass the board through twice. That would create the tongue. Half inch shank would be a good choice. No way would I attempt this with a freehand router.