Router Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone

I somehow managed to get a series 2000 workcentre and the series 2000 router table brand new in 2017.... I'm also amazed. Price and space were key considerations.

After setting up the workcentre I realized that the router table won't sit flat on the workcentre. The router table has some red locking tabs that lock into the guide rails of the workcentre but even those don't prevent play at both ends of the table. The instruction manual only has instructions for mounting the table onto the MK3.

Is there anyone with any sort of experience with this who could share some advice and pictures that may be of help?


Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
346 Posts
Hi Clyde / Eugene? I have the Series 2000 Router table and Series 2000 Workcentre, but the router table is on it's own stand, and I have never used it on the Workcentre. I am away for the next 2 days, but when I am back I will check out the set-up and try to help you. I take it that you also have the router mounting plate?
I have a second series 2000 router table, which I intend building a support base for - it's only in the Sketchup phase at present, but when this design is finalised, I will be happy to share it with you.
Rob in SA.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi Clyde / Eugene? I have the Series 2000 Router table and Series 2000 Workcentre, but the router table is on it's own stand, and I have never used it on the Workcentre. I am away for the next 2 days, but when I am back I will check out the set-up and try to help you. I take it that you also have the router mounting plate?
I have a second series 2000 router table, which I intend building a support base for - it's only in the Sketchup phase at present, but when this design is finalised, I will be happy to share it with you.
Rob in SA.
Oh thank you. I think having it on its own separate stand would be more convenient. I'll wait to hear from you when you're back.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
346 Posts
Hello again Clyde/Eugene - (not too sure what to call you) - I attached my spare Triton router table to my series 2000 Workcentre, and I understand your problem - sort of. Firstly, it appears that they haven't actually made proper provision to accommodate the series 2000 router table on the series 2000 workcentre - seems strange, but perhaps they were more set on accommodating the new router table, the RTA 300 - can't say for sure, but maybe someone else with more knowledge might chip in.

However, you can certainly use the router table on the workcentre. My router table does sit flat on the workcentre, as you will see in the attached picture. The red tabs at the back lock into the rails, which prevents upward lifting, but no provision has been made at the front for this, and the table can still move backwards or forwards if sufficient pressure is applied. As long as the router on its mounting plate is properly located and restrained on the underside of the table, you should be able to use the setup without a problem. If the table tends to move along the rails in use, one can use 2 small clamps at the front, as I show in the picture. But of course, the one clamp could be in the way of a larger workpiece. If this is the case, remove both clamps, as using just the back one could slightly distort the table.

You mention that your table is not sitting flat on the workcentre - is it rocking on the router mounting plate? It should just touch this plate to apply slight downward pressure on it.

Let me know if any of this is of help to you.

Rob
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Hello again Clyde/Eugene - (not too sure what to call you)
Haha, you can call me either of the two. Clyde is my first name and Eugene is my middle name so I just love concatenating them at the last/first letter 'e'

You mention that your table is not sitting flat on the workcentre - is it rocking on the router mounting plate? It should just touch this plate to apply slight downward pressure on it.
Yes, the table is rocking slightly at the front and back ends when I mount it on the workcentre. It seems to be raised a bit by the raised triangles on the router mounting plate. Someone advised me to look for the router table fitting kit for the workcentre (see attached image and PDF) and I managed to get it at TechnoPro. I'm still trying to get it shipped to Zim though.

Thank you very much for the help.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
346 Posts
Hi Clyde - I must say I was not aware of this router table fitting kit. It all makes sense, as the hook corresponds to the one on the workcentre table, and the tabs probably lift the table enough not to rock on the router plate.
Anyway, I hope it can solve your problem - let me know if I can help if there's a problem shipping to Zim.
I will also let you know by PM when my Sketchup plan is finished.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hi Clyde - I must say I was not aware of this router table fitting kit. It all makes sense, as the hook corresponds to the one on the workcentre table, and the tabs probably lift the table enough not to rock on the router plate.
Anyway, I hope it can solve your problem - let me know if I can help if there's a problem shipping to Zim.
I will also let you know by PM when my Sketchup plan is finished.
Hello again

Thanks for the concern. I managed to sort out the shipping, the kit should be here on Thursday so I'll try to fit it in place and test out the router table on the workcentre.

I'll wait to hear from you on your Sketchup plans. Been really hoping to make time to really go deep with either Sketchup or Fusion 360. Guess I'll do so after this semester.


Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top