Router Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m brand new to wood working as I’m in the process of purchasing a house, so I figured I’d need to know my way around a few tools so I wouldn’t have to hire someone to fix everything that messes up.
With that being said, I recently purchased the Avid Power 6.5 a trim router and I have absolutely no idea how to install the bits that came with the router. I’ve searched YouTube, google and read through the manual and I guess it’s all going over my head. I’ve attached pictures to show me attempting to put the bit in and taking the collet nut off.
Thanks for any and all help

Attachments

·
Registered
808 Posts
Are you having trouble tightening the nut?
If so, are you pushing the button on the side holding it in and turning the nut until it locks the shaft so you can tighten the nut?
I hope that makes sense but if that isn’t your issue then I apologize. Otherwise I’m not sure what you are having trouble with.

Good luck,
Bryan

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Are you having trouble tightening the nut?
If so, are you pushing the button on the side holding it in and turning the nut until it locks the shaft so you can tighten the nut?
I hope that makes sense but if that isn’t your issue then I apologize. Otherwise I’m not sure what you are having trouble with.

Good luck,
Bryan
I’m not having trouble with the nut itself, just getting the bits into the collet. They aren’t going in, even though it is the right size collet (I’ve quadruple checked at this point). It seems like the collet isn’t getting loose at all, even after completely removing the nut.

·
Registered
2,282 Posts
Welcome to Router Forums,