Router Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings from Portugal and thanks for the welcome message to a newcomer.
I have been interested in woodworking for most of my life and now in retirement have just picked up a DW 625E, initially to turn out some slatted sun shades. I have recently been gifted a Trend Router Table Insert Plate (RTI/PLATE) and a couple of clamps/guides which conveniently brings me to my query:
I attach pics of the clamps and wonder if any members can identify these and know how they should be used/mounted.
From the above it is obvious that I am new to routing but am keen to make the most of the DeWALT and look forward to any reply that may be forthcoming.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,988 Posts
Patrick, immediately looking at your photos - I have no clue what purpose the clamp(?) is made for. Many styles and configurations of clamps are utilized in woodwork (also in metalworking, etc.) This looks well-made, but the photos do not include an application. This could possibly be a purpose-built clamp or part of something larger that it is merely a component of.

·
Registered
Mike
3,765 Posts
Hi Patrick,

Welcome to the router forums.

I believe what you have is a set of corner clamps.
I think you need a square frame for the bottom clamp (picture 1) to push the 2 sides into the corner. Clamp 1 mounted to the jig and pushed into the corner, then locked down by the thumb screw. Clamp 2 is for the top and goes into the corner and the 2 arms go over the sides and draw them into alignment. The sprins apply pressure to the workpieces.

Just a guess!

Work safe, Have Fun, Cut some wood,
Mike

Edit:
I don't think the corner has to be square, could be round joint. could be barrel clamps, boat clamps

Attachments

·
Registered
2,117 Posts