Router Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone,
I am an inexperienced person and not at all handy. I ordered a Gerton table top from Ikea to add legs to and convert into a table. It wouldn't take me long to stain or varnish it and put it to use! Then I read that I would have to oil it every two days for two months before using it... Would regular wood blue stain work? The fact that some people complain that some treatments for wood make it sticky is another thing I don't want.
Also, can I do this outside when it starts getting cold?
Thanks in advance!!

·
Registered
629 Posts
I did a quick search and saw the table top is beech. Wonderful lumber for a table. So my gut feeling is it should be fine to use a different finish but I don't know if the wood has been treated with something else already.

I have limited experience with finishes other than oil so please take anything I say with a heaping spoon of salt. I normally just use tung oil, poly or lacquer for my pieces.

When you get the top, test a small section on the underside or anywhere it will not be seen with the alternate finish that you would like to use. Worst case you can sand the area if it doesn't work.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Hi everyone,
I am an inexperienced person and not at all handy. I ordered a Gerton table top from Ikea to add legs to and convert into a table. It wouldn't take me long to stain or varnish it and put it to use! Then I read that I would have to oil it every two days for two months before using it... Would regular wood varnish or stain work? The fact that some people complain that some treatments for wood make it sticky is another thing I don't want.
Also, can I do this outside when it starts getting cold?
Thanks in advance!!