Router Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am Raf from Canada, thanks for the add!

I have recently started working with composites (Fiberglass, Carbon Fibre, Industrial Design clay and so on) and I am looking to add a CNC to my workshop to work faster, more efficient and most importantly, more precisely. However, I am completely new to this world, so I would be extremely grateful if anyone could point me to where I should start, such as what program I should use, what is an affordable but good CNC and whatever could help me on this journey.

I would be using CNC to produce smaller parts made out of clay, cut carbon fibre plates and so on, nothing bigger than your day-to-day chair.

Thanks in advance.

Raf

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
Hi Raf and welcome. It`s best to post another thread in the CNC sub forum with your question as many of the members don`t read the introduction threads.

Reactions: Rafael Piccoli

·
Registered
205 Posts
Greetings to a fellow Canuck and welcome.

While I don't have any CNC machine or related knowledge, I have worked on and off with f/glass, plastics and CF since the early 90s in the context of car audio system installation and fabrication.

Couple of things to consider: F/glass and it's dust and fumes during epoxy mixing/application/hardening is severely poisonous and dangerous. Carbon fiber even more so, as are the epoxies and resins attached to making items from these. Sanding, grinding and cutting also produces these toxic particulates (and fumes if you burn them) so a respirator is an absolute necessity IMHO.

I have found the smell to be less than nice in the house (lol) and cured carbon will rapidly wear out sharp tools, not sure about carbide but likely so. Cured carbon is very strong but also usually brittle (not always) so care must be taken to not shatter the work piece or the cutting tool. Slivers etc into the skin are also not medically recommended lol.