Router Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

After lurking for quite some time, earlier in the week I finally made the decision, and I've bought my first router, a 900W Makita with a 1/4" collet ... :grin:

At this stage, I've got a few very basic cabinet type projects that I'd like to get rolling with, mainly centered around improving storage in my garage / workshop.

Outside of those projects, I'm a grade 1 class A geek, so using the router in connection with some digital electronics projects is a definite possibility, so depending on how that goes, I might even consider venturing into CNC. As for the CNC, I've got +40 years experience as a draughtsman, and 30 years worth of CAD behind me, so the 3D modelling side of things holds no terrors.

At this stage I'm pretty comfortable with Sketchup, but a friend who does have a CNC machine is trying to get to grips with Fusion 360, so I'll look at getting to grips with that so that I can help him out, in exchange for some 3D time ... :wink:

Cheers

John

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
welcome to the forums John...
have we got some accelerate your learning curve w/ new router...
visit this here link and start reading....

Reactions: JGC

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
Hi John and welcome. We have some very knowledgeable CNC guys here who may be able to help. And your friend can join too.

Reactions: JGC

·
Registered
Mike
3,940 Posts
Welcome to the Router Forums John.

Sounds like you and your friend will be having lost of fun working together. With your background, you should be able to figure out the basics of Fusion 360 quickly and be able to start sharing that with your friend and in turn he can share machine time with you untile you get a CNC of your own, win-win situation.

You will find that Fusion 360 is a powerful program loaded with features.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·