Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I rarely find the time to post a new thread when I do something on my CNC machine.

At the same time, I read daily what others are doing, and find projects posted by others, especially if there are pics, the most inspiring. The specific project may not even be of interest to me, but seeing their process, and how they overcame whatever problems they encountered, if any, always seems to help advance my process.

So, I have started this thread to post up things I have done using my Probotix Comet CNC. I use Fusion 360 for design and CAM. I started using Fusion about 3 yrs before I bought the CNC, so at least had a decent grasp on the 3d design process and had run many CAM simulations prior to taking the step of buying a machine that could put that to use. I am by no means an expert.

That said, I will start posting pics of various projects I have completed, and give a brief description. I hope this provides the same inspiration to others that I have experienced.

This first pic is one of the first things I "cut" successfully. The end result, a flying model of an F22, wasn't quite right. But several revisions later, and with a better feel for running the CNC, I have a well flying model, and have continued to update the design, and have cut, built, and flown several. These are cut from "dollar store foam board", and it turns out this material has also worked well for me in testing patterns for various things before cutting in the "real" material. Cutting this material on top of a foam block as spoilboard, let me learn the CNC with less fear of crashing it.:wink:

Attachments

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Under the model plane is a motorcycle stand. Made from 1/2" ply. Tabbed and slotted edges, glued on final assembly. The rubber top is a piece of baler belt, also cut to shape and pocketed for fasteners on the CNC.

Attachments

·
Registered
50 Posts