Router Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am a very green beginner in the wood working world. Why am I here?
Well that is a long story. I grew up on a farm and my Grandfather made some furniture. In the late 1970's we felled our woods on the farm. Dad had the Oaks sawn into rough cut lumber and we were AD. Then we lost the largest quanity in a large fire on the property. My Grandfather had approx. 8 Oak boards (Sorry, I will add the dimensions on a later post) at his place that survived. I am now the proud owner of this rough cut oak 3" thick x 20' lumber that I am suspecting is over dry. I want to have it cut into boards but not sure about the moisture content, planer splits and the overall quality of the wood. Then if I do find it is too dry can it be remoistened? If that is even possible.

My plans. I want to eventually make something with this wood. I will probably start with some simple projects.

So here I am asking ..... what are my options?

·
Official Greeter
18,811 Posts
G’day Kathy

Welcome to the router forum.

Thank you for joining us

I have not before heard of oak being too dry. I believe it dries down to a level set by the outside humidity then fluctuates up and down from there.

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
Yes it can be remoisterized. It may not be necessary if you can slow down the planer feed rate. I am just not sure about oak. I have had problems with Canadian western white birch chipping through the planer but it is 20 +years old. If you do try to re-hydrate the lumber, be careful. Too much water can cause spalting.

·
Registered
10,671 Posts
Greetings Kathy and welcome to the router forum. Thank you for joining us, and remember to have fun, build well and above all be safe.