Router Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a mostly beginning woodworker new to routers. I inherited an old Craftsman 31517380 (circa 1973) from my father. It seems to run well and I don't think he used it much. I don't know how much routers have changed over the years and I'm wondering if I should invest in an new one or if this one is adequate for basic needs? I'm guessing most 1/4" bits will work with this one, but not sure if the setup is easier with new ones, etc.? I'll also need a table for it.

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
John
6,962 Posts
Hello and welcome to the router forum Jeff
Like most tools routers have improved but why not make a few small projects with old one, if you really get serious about woodworking you will probably want to upgrade but if are really serious about building a table I would probably get a new router before building it

·
Registered
Theo
7,194 Posts
If it runs, keep it, and use it until it dies. When it dies likely not able to find the parts to repair it, so toss it, or keep it for parts - never can tell what you might run across. I have 4 or 5 old Craftsman routers (only use 1, so lose count), they all work, the new one is somewhere between 15 and 20yo. When the one I use dies, I'll toss it, or keep it for parts, and start using a different one. Make a table. My router plate is 1/2" plywood, and I made a master so I can clone them. Will fit any router not wider than mine, just have to drill screw holes.

·
Registered
21,697 Posts