Router Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Morning,

I have just completed a keepsake box I am making for Father's Day, and am down to just the finishing touches. I am a complete rookie in the stain/coat department, and would appreciate any advice on finishing the project.

I didn't finish with a coat before glue up because there was still going to be sanding of the 'proud' edges of the box joints after glue/up, so opted to do the finish after.

I am leaning towards just using a polyurethane clear coat, as I want to keep the look/color of the oak.

Thanks for any advice!

Matt

Attachments

·
Registered
11,921 Posts
Matt, most of the poly finishes will give the oak a slightly darker yellowish tint. If you want to keep it as close as possible to natural you might try Minwax Polycrylic. You cay buy this in rattle cans to make the job as quick and easy as possible. I like the satin finish, it doesn't look like your project was dipped in plastic.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Mike, exactly what I was looking for! That 'non dipped in plastic' look, keep the wood natural if you will. Bonus they carry this at big box stores.

·
Registered
1,415 Posts
Good Morning,

I have just completed a keepsake box I am making for Father's Day, and am down to just the finishing touches. I am a complete rookie in the stain/coat department, and would appreciate any advice on finishing the project.

I didn't finish with a coat before glue up because there was still going to be sanding of the 'proud' edges of the box joints after glue/up, so opted to do the finish after.

I am leaning towards just using a polyurethane clear coat, as I want to keep the look/color of the oak.

Thanks for any advice!

Matt