Router Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I’m new to both the forum and DIY/ woodworking (Ive taken several classes). I have an issue with the weight of power tools. In the past this would not have been an issue, but now after major wrist surgery on my dominant arm and issues with both hands, my grip and arm strength is a problem.

I just purchased a Bosch Colt 1.25HP compact router. I took it out of the box and immediately knew the weight ( 4.4lbs) was a problem and I wouldn’t be able to control/handle the router well. I looked into the Colt 1HP (PR20EVS) which is 3.3 lbs, but it had some negative reviews (on Amazon where all the reviews are padded) esp r/t the depth adjustment not locking well.

The Makita RTO705C is 3.9 lbs which is less than the Bosch I have, but do not know what is a good choice that is both light in weight but not completely lacking in functionality/quality.

After some searching it appears that none of the major tool companies have considered the needs of women and their smaller hands and lower grip and arm strength. Women are buying more power tools than ever and this appears to be a missed opportunity and niche for a company to get into.

·
Official Greeter
20,101 Posts
Welcome to the forum, @Helana .

You may be right about a niche market, however I cannot see a manufacturer who relies on sales volumes to go into a niche market.

We have a number of female members, and they seem to be happy with the tools available.

I can understand you might have problems, having had surgery.

I trust you can find a tool that will satisfy your needs...

·
Registered
2,321 Posts
Welcome Helana,

I use my router table as much, if not more than I use my routers hand-held. Once the router is installed in a table it isn't necessary to pick it up, so you could make use of even larger routers.