Router Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know "live edge" things have been done before but this is my first attempt to do any.
I brought a 48" long and 6" thick Walnut slab from a guy on craigslist and rather than using my draw knife
to get rid of the bark I thought it would be fun to make use of it for a picture frame. I finished the
frame with 3 coats of spray shellac to go into the crevices of the bark. The bark turned from grey to brown
once I applied the finish.
Those pictured are my son, daughter-in-law and my 6 year old triplet grandsons.
Wood Lumber Hardwood Plywood Table

Picture frame Room Rectangle Shelf Wood

Picture frame Wall Room Wood Rectangle

·
Registered
Oliver (Prof. Henry)
2,252 Posts
That's a beautiful and creative frame, Randy.

·
Registered
Mike
3,959 Posts
Randy that was a great use for the slab. A perfect place to display those pictures.

Three at one time is probably more than I could handle at one time if they are anything like my oldest great-granddaughter.

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
4,358 Posts
That looks wonderful, Randy! And like has been said, the way you utilized the shape of the wood near the miters is well thought out and executed. Yes, a great looking crew, as well!

David

·
Registered
2,045 Posts