Router Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off....... I'm pretty new at router use. I have a PC890 that is less than a year old and I can't seem to keep the setting. As I use it, the bit keeps dropping lower. Thia may sound dumb but can I be doing sowthing wrong? I tighten the bit, put the machine in the table and set it up. I open the lever, adjust the height and close the lever. I also tried to adjust with the lever closed but with the same result. Perhaps that model is not the best for that application?

·
Retired Moderator
4,126 Posts
Hello! I am a little confused on whether the router is dropping or if the bit is. My guess is the bit is dropping. How long of a bit are you using. What kind of bit are you using? Perhaps that bit is too short and you have it pulled up in the collet to achieve some height? If that is the case there may not be enough bit in the collet to grab it properly and safely for that matter.

If the router itself is dropping I don't know, first you should raise the router then lock it down. You should not lock it down and try to raise it, it really shouldn't let you do that if the router is adjusted right. Is there an adjustment to tighten the clamp?

Corey

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No. The bit is in as far as it will go. I have an O ring on the bit to install to the correct depth. Perhaps you're right as far as raising , locking it down, then lowering to the desired adjustment. Do you do the adjustment after the you lock it down?

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
Hi willym24

Not all bits are the same, that's to say most 1/4" bits are .244 to .255 in dia. some the best ones are .248 in dia., so to say get your mike out and check the ones you have.

The next thing you want to check is the lock device on the router, it may need to be adjusted, it should have a screw in the center so you can remove and it then move the bar so it locks up quicker and tighter on the router.