Router Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
(I decided to title with both terms as searching for "cross" alone gives many non-relevant hits)

My daughter is getting married in less than 2 weeks. Her hubby-to be and his dad are both accomplished woodworkers, I'm just a newbie.

But being the sentimental type, I wanted to give them a cross for their wedding. One piece will be made from cherry harvested from the tree in our yard that she grew up playing under; one piece will be of walnut harvested by her fiance; walnut is his favorite wood.

As I was considering this, I wanted any edge routing I did to work in a "rail and stile" manner; that is, I did not want to rout into the corner of the complete joint. But if I do that, then I cannot lap joint the two pieces using half-depth dadoes, unless I cut one leg through across the dado and then slide the pieces in from each side. I could also cut 4 pieces with 45° miters and join them that way (seems really difficult to get just right), or I also thought of reinforcing the joint with a medallion in the back.

So I can get around the joinery, I suppose, but thought that perhaps enough interest could be drummed up that a sticky thread for cross (crucifix) makers could develop, as these can be quite an art form in themselves. A search of the site here found only one example; it was very pretty, but not what I wanted.

And yes, I'm still looking for ideas, and yes, I'm still trying to get it done for the wedding. I was hoping for more than two rectangular pieces stuck together with some nice edge work, but may have to settle for that. She's predominantly Irish, and a nurse; he's a steamfitter, Polish/Irish. I'd hoped to embody some element of their heritage and/or professions.

Thanks, all!

Tom

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
Hi Tom

I would suggest using the 1/4" floating tenon way, once you have it glued up put on a nice profile all the way around the cross :)