Router Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to woodworking. I have a table saw and a tenoning jig. I need to make mortises but I do not have a drill press. I do have a router table and a plunge router. Can I make a mortise without a jig or do I need to build one. I need to make a mortise 3/4" wide and 1 1/2 " deep. This is for the trestle on my new work bench. Thank you for your help. Tom

·
Registered
11,921 Posts
Tom, You can make your mortise with a hand drill and a chisel, quick and easy. Cut a piece of 1 x 3" a couple inches long and use it as a guide for keeping your bit vertical and straight. Drill a series of holes and then clean out the mortise with a sharp chisel. This is the easiest way for what you are doing.
You can also use a template and guide bushing or a template and flush trim bit if you predrill a hole and remove the bulk of the material. If you want to try one of these methods respond for directions.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the help

I went out and bought a drill press today and I will drill and then chisel out my mortice. Is this the ideal way to do them. I intend on doing much more woodworking and this seems to be a popular joint. What do you think is the most accurate and easy way to make this joint.

Thanks,
Tom

·
Registered
26 Posts
One of the methods I've been reading about alot and seems rather simple, and that is to use a upcutting spiral bit, your plunge router, and the router's edge guide. Put an extra spacer block on the edge guide side, which offers more surface area for the router to rest on. This is supposed to generate some of the smoothest inside faces for a mortise. Caution is given though to not to try and remove too much waste in a single pass (1/2" deep?).

The only thing I noted was that you get rounded corners, and they can either be chiseled square, or use a rasp or wood file to round the corners of the tenon.