Router Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to make some Trivets for christmas gifts. As I am new to the router and only understand basic principles, I am looking for a couple of tips.

1. I want to round the edges but the material will be too thin for the bearing to have anything to ride on. I have come up with putting a guide board below it and running along it. Is this the easiest (sp?) way?

2. When I cut the parrallel grooves should I just clamp a straight edge and move for each line?

Also, anybody have unusual designs for trivets. I did a search and came up with very little info.

·
Registered
11,921 Posts
The information you are seeking is largely answered by the Rotozip template kit mentioned in the next post, well worth the price. View it here: http://www.routerforums.com/36134-post1.html
I bought mine at Lowes a few years ago.
Another style of trivet is worth a look. This one is simply crossed bars that lock together with dovetails.

Attachments

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
Hi petersenj20

(1.) this is when the router table fence will come in to play,but if you don't have one the guide board will work just fine :)

(2.) aging the fence will do the work for this type of cut,just cut out some spacer blocks on the table saw, make your 1st pass on the router table,then put your spacer block in place and move the fence back to the right spot then make your 2nd pass ,3rd space,reset the fence aging, and just keep going until your done.

Bob and Rick says this all the time down use a ruler and it's true use a spacer block and they will look great when your done.
Bob has a tool I really like it's called a RUBBER Ruler :)

http://www.pbs.org/routerworkshop/

703 - Trivets, Trivets
http://www.routerworkshop.com/S700.html

Bj :)

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #4