Router Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I made this from Bubinga.
Not so many people have mantlepieces today, but I was in a traditional mood.

The clock surround is made of 16 and a 1/4 staves, glued into a tube. i epoxyed a 3/4 wide brass strip around the inside edge to give it more strength. you cant see any joins on the tube, it looks like its one piece.
The clock face is 6" diameter.

Attachments

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
4,196 Posts
Very nice, Bob! Did you take any photos of the building process? I can picture it but would like to see how you cut the pieces and handled the glue up. I've done a similar glue up with larger pieces and fewer of them.

Nice work!

David

·
Registered
1,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
I'm not good with build pics because I dont work to plan. At any time I might easily just make a small mistake and then put it in the scrap bin and start again with a completely different design, so then I've wasted the time to take all the pics. Its only when the last piece gets glued that I know if its a keeper or not.

Plan "A" was a circle with 16 staves, each one cut with 12 degree bevel edges. When it came to gluing the circle that idea didnt work so I ended up with 16 and a 1/4 staves to get the correct size (the 1/4 stave is buried at the bottom).

Then I made a little turntable for the belt sander, glued the bubinga circle to a smaller circle of ply with a centre hole, and then rotated it on the pin in the turntable so that i could remove all the edges and make the shape uniform.
That actually went exactly to plan and i'm very pleased with it as there are no joins visible on the drum.

After gluing it to the supports and the base it looked a little fragile, so I drilled a 3 mm hole down diagonally through the drum and supports into the base on each side, and used brass rods and 2 part epoxyed them into the holes.