Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Retired Moderator
5,688 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Here are some pictures at my first attempt at boxmaking, actually my first attempt at at fine woodworking. Corey got me interested in boxmaking a few months ago and has been coaching me on the sidelines so I must give credit where credit is due. This practice box was made pretty much by following Doug Stowe's DVD. It is made of common red oak with walnut miter keys. I finished it in simple stand alone Danish Oil.

Any critique is welcome as I am still learning. I know the box itself is not perfect, but the learning experiece was great.

Attachments

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
Nice Bob

Now what are you going to put in it ??

That's what neat about making boxes, you pickup some nice wood and the next thing you are doing is making a box with it and then you say that was fun one more would be fun so you'er off making boxes and looking for things to put in them :) :)
and then at some point you switch over and start making boxes to fit what you want to put in them :) I have a box for just about every tool I have :) :) :) some big some small, then you say well the boss needs a box or two and you start making boxes for her :) :) we have a standing joke here at home ,, " where did I put that ?, look in the garage in a box and you will find it" :) :)

I'm looking forward to see what you come up with next :)
Have fun

Bj :)

·
Registered
342 Posts
Very nice Bob N...your mitered joints couldn't be any cleaner than that!
I like the way the walnut splines look with the red oak.

Greg

·
Premium Member
2,413 Posts
Bob N said:
I know the box itself is not perfect
I don't know, looks REAL nice to me.... of course, my opinion is offered freely and is worth exactly what you paid for it... :)

Splines really set it off in my opinion, as does the lid design. Just different enough from a "flat top" to enhance it.

Brian

·
Registered
11,921 Posts