Registered
31,264 Posts
I'm jealous...
great find...

·
Registered
1,949 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
the front wooden plane and the tiny metal one were my dads. he died 39 years ago. I've only just got them from my sister, who has had them all those years. I didnt even know she had them.
theres a huge vertical split in the front of the wooden one, so no resale value, even if it is a good named tool, but huge sentimemtal value.

·
Registered
15,459 Posts
The smallest one, in the front? the one with the metal band?
Just a random thought here, but is it possible to remove everything, saw the plane vertically...front to back, and insert a contrasting slice of hardwood? Epoxy I'm thinking.
Then rework as necessary. Perhaps no longer an antique, but back to being a functioning plane?

·
Registered
1,949 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
The brass banded one is the one that was my dads. He was a "careful" man with tools, never knew him to buy new. He was a structural ironworker by trade, and a cabinet maker by hobby. I dont have a hope in hell of reaching ANY of his standards.

The band is very strong, and its actually a functioning plane with a good steel, although I'm not sure why the top edge of the steel is so beaten over?

I suspect I shall just skim the bottom and leave it as is. I have no intention of resale on any of them, just need to learn how to use them.
Its stamped GREENSLADES BRISTOL and the steel is MARPLES HIBERNIA.
The tiny metal plane was also my dads, I have no info on this other than the numbers 101 cast into the metal.
Any ideas?

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
You might find some useful information on Lee Valley`s website. You could also look for a copy of Garrett Hack`s book on hand planes. Some say it is one of the best resources available on hand planes.

·
Premium Member
6,056 Posts
The 101 is an old Stanley tools trim plane... nice lil fella :) very lightweight in use, but what it lacks in size it makes up for in use..