Router Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to routing (see my post count) and have absolutely no clue on what I'm looking for. The entire reasoning in me buying a router is to help me with building picture frames. I am a photographer, and figured it's time to start making my own, for one to make the pictures more personal, and two, more value when selling. I have ordered a Hitachi KM12VC, based on the excellent reviews it seems to have. I'm sure it's not the best, but I have yet to see that it's the worst either. What I'm looking for in a table is....

Price has to be under $200, or at least extremely close to it if over

Portability and Storage is a necesiity. I live in an apartment, and will be transporting it anytime I use it, and it will need to be easily stored in a closet (is this even possible? lol)

So what do ya'll think? Am I asking too much? I built a frame this weekend, and here is an image of it if anyone is interested.......

Thanks in advance for the help.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I think, after much research, it would be best to make my own table. I could make it more portable this way, and much cheaper. One question though. Where do I find a mounting plate for this router? I have yet to find any that say it will fit. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hello, I don't feel like building a table, so can anyone recommend a table for under $200 that will fit the Hitachi KM12VC with no hassle?

Thanks

·
Registered
2 Posts
That fence system looks a little not so good. How is it working for you and how does this table compare to the BOSCH RA1181?

·
Premium Member
3,437 Posts
Hi,

I'm with Bob on this one. Take a real close look at the Oak Park table. I too have this table. I wouldn't trade it for anything. It does the exact same thing as many of the high priced ones, if not better. :) I'd provide a link but, Bob already has. :D :)

·
Registered
1,627 Posts