Router Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi!

As a beginner woodworker I'm about to purchase my first router and I'd really love some advice since I cant find many good reviews from them. I'll be using it as a hobbyist, mostly for making household items, some of them from hardwood. My budget is at most ~300 EUR, but I'd really like to get something under 200 EUR if possible. After lots of research I've narrowed it down to the following ones:

Bosch GOF 130 (1300W, 120 EUR):
+ has lots of features: strong motor, speed setting, constant speed
- plunge depth cannot be set precisely
? the super cheap price compared to other blue Bosch machines makes me a bit suspicious that its lacking something... there are more expensive green Bosch devices

Makita RT0700CX2 (710W, 190 EUR):
+ has lots of features: speed setting, constant speed, 3 attachments
+ lots of accessories
- Isnt it a bit weak?
- pricey

Makita M3602 (1650W, 160 EUR, 12mm only)
+ super strong
+ soft start
- no variable speed
? Do I need such a strong router for hobby projects? Its 2x as heavy (5.7kg) as the others

Makita RP0900 (900W, 100EUR)
+ cheap, light (2,2 kg)
- no features (no variable speed, no constant speed, no precision lock)

Which one would you choose?
Thanks!

· Registered
22,917 Posts
Don't know the Euro brands and models. Bosch is great over here, but I thought their kit went for far more than that.

The heavier, more powerful routers are really good for the table, but some are awkward to handle freehand. I try to do as much of my routing on the table as possible. It's much safer. A smaller, lighter router is more comfortable for freehand work.